Fast Food Love Story

I know I met you at a fast food restaurant. . . well . . . not a fast food restaurant,

A burger restaurant.

And, I know I ordered the salad.

Who orders the salad at a restaurant that has “burger” in the title, anyway?

Who would want to talk to that girl?

And, who especially want to talk to the girl who ordered the kale salad at the burger restaurant?

But maybe it tells about who I am inside. Maybe the underweight girl ordering the kale salad at the burger restaurant reveals too much about me.
I know I didn’t get your joke at first

Well . . . it wasn’t a joke.

It was more of a pun.

And, I know I seemed stupid.

Who doesn’t get a joke like that anyway?

Who wants to love someone with no sense of humor?

And who especially wants to love the girl with no sense of humor who orders the kale salad at the burger restaurant?

Who would want to laugh with that girl?

But maybe it tells you about who I am inside. Maybe I was too busy looking into your brown eyes to sense the sarcasm dripping from your lips.
I know I only smiled at you as I left.

Well . . . it wasn’t really a smile.

It was a grin.

And I know I seemed silly.

Who grins at the boy at the register after embarrassing herself by not getting his joke and by ordering the kale salad at the burger restaurant?

But maybe the grin tells you about who I want to be. Maybe I only grinned at the last minute because that’s all I have the courage for because of what happened the last time I showed my smile to someone.
I know I only walked by you

Well it was really more of a run

And I know I seemed stupid

Who runs out of a burger restaurant anyway?

Who wants to love someone like that?

Maybe you do.

2 thoughts on “Fast Food Love Story”

Leave a Reply

