An Explanation

Hello! I’ve decided to start this blog on somewhat of a whim with the goal of posting something I’ve observed or learned or think is valuable weekly.  Originally, I convinced myself that this blog would be a series of essays, but now I think that it is going to be a door into my mind.  If you’re reading this, I want to thank you personally.  I’m very excited to be doing this!  In all honesty, this blog is really for me, but if anyone derives any pleasure from reading it I will feel extremely fulfilled.

I want to, for a moment, explain the title of my blog, Dystopian Jasmine.  My name is Jasmine and I really love dystopian novels.  However, the way I see it, the title also has somewhat of a double meaning.  A dystopia is the opposite of a utopia; it is a world in which everything is going bad instead of good.  There are lots of science fiction novels that I think are dystopian, and they are very popular! Examples include The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins and Maze Runner by James Dashner and Divergent by Veronica Roth.  A dystopia is darkness and steel, but the Jasmine flower is light and beauty.  Depending on the culture you look at, it could symbolize purity or romance or any multitude of things.  The title Dystopian Jasmine is meant to illustrate both light and darkness, both in the world, in literature, and in people.  In a sense, since a dystopia is really a failed utopia, the connotation of my title is something beautiful and perfect that is corrupted.  Maybe others will see this concept better illustrated in the Daoist Yin and Yang.  Either way, my title is meant to illustrate light and darkness together, just like they are in real life.  Bittersweet, like coffee with cream.image

Leave a Reply

